myviewonthetrail

Everyone is on a the trail, here's my view.

Keeping up with the Littles!

We have six little ones at our house. Their ages are 12, 10, 8, 4, 2, and 4 months. It is crazy to think how the older ones are not so little any more, but I digress.

One of my goals that I have always had as a mother was that I could be healthy (read: not fat) enough so that I could play with my Littles. Actually I have been fairly successful at playing with them, even when I am not at my goal weight. (I have recommitted to that.)

I have found that playing with my Littles helps me to keep the goal to be able to play with my Littles. Like the chicken and the egg.

So while I am not as strong as I used to be (I love lifting weights!), I am getting back into shape by playing with them at the park! In the early morning, before it gets too hot, they bike and I walk to a park in the neighborhood. I do not have a fancy runny stroller, just an old double stroller. Pushing it gives me quite a workout. It is heavy and it pulls to the left, so my arms are constantly working simply to keep it straight! Once I get momentum going, I don’t like to be stopped, so the Littles all know not to stop in front of me – they might get run over! The best part of the stroller? The passengers…

Image

They love playing on the playground. They go across it like it is an obstacle course. They challenged me to do it. Wow! That was hard. I felt awkward, but I did it. Good thing no one was there to witness it. The kids cheered me on, then told me I was slow. 😉

Image

I taught them how to play Freeze Tag. It is lots of fun, but I seem to always get frozen, because I cannot outrun any of them! They know I am an easy target. I guess I need to work on running…

Image

This was the first time I had ran since before Baby! I was tired and sore. But it was fun!

 

What game should I teach them next?

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

